Barbra Streisand, Music

Introverts Theme Song- OR…NOT! “People” by Barbra Streisand

This is a little personal. I sang this song to a full house when I was 17. I had the lead in “Funny Girl”-the stage version when I was a teenager. Big Whoop. Ok. I have to admit, I did not enjoy it. It’s a long story. I felt so controlled by all of it. I never felt like I really chose it. I have never enjoyed any performance aspects of my life. I’m an introvert you see. So, the words, “People who need people (extroverts) are the luckiest people in the world. We’re children, needing other children. And yet letting our grown up pride hide all the need inside, acting more like children than children.”…sounds like what an extrovert would say. Just read some threads on Facebook full of angry extroverts and you’ll see how childish they are. Fanny Brice was an introvert wishing and seeing herself as an extrovert. It wasn’t working for her. Look at, or listen to all the lyrics of this song. They are unique in a very extrovert focused world.

Well, introverts are the opposite. We DO show all the need inside through our writing, our stand up comedy, our acting, our singing, any or our performance that shows the authentic, brilliant pathos of what it is to be human. That is a gift. But it’s not easy to let all of that flow out. Fortunately, most of us feel driven to and it becomes our work. And sometimes, we feel like we live in a world that could just suck us dry!!!! *****sigh****

The character Fanny Brice was definitely an introvert, a talented singer and performer, very funny (as many introverts are) but she wished she was an extrovert and people treated her like she was one. I never thought about this before!!! It just hit me today. The whole play and the movie is about the experience of a woman who was a talented, artistic, introvert. But she WISHED, and she wanted to be an extrovert. She was in love with a man that seemed to want a woman who was an extrovert. She was raised in a family that was extroverted. It was a prized character trait. It still is.

Oh, jump off a short pier…all of it. We see the world differently. Many introverts now are very content in and of themselves and small circle of introvert friends. I’m done with relating to Fanny Brice, Jewish diva and all (I’m Jewish too). The deeper I go into my dream world, my creativity, my writing, the more fulfilled I feel. Maybe I’ll finally get to a point where I can do all the piano composing I’ve been dreaming of doing and be at peace in a small, comfy body.

People who need people are not the luckiest people. They may be the richest, but they’re not the luckiest. We have a different way.

2 thoughts on “Introverts Theme Song- OR…NOT! “People” by Barbra Streisand”

Leave a Reply

